Gotta Laugh at this Economy?

by

I need to start this post out by saying my Mom is one of the best persons in the world.  Why?  Her house in Florida was robbed yesterday while she was at work and these guys took a lot. Her response?  “It’s the economy, times are hard and folks are desperate.”  She had a smile on her face and had a few laughs.  Wow, what a reasonable smart woman.  (I actually felt robbed, because I bought some of the stuff that got stolen!)  Anyway, she’s doing fine and getting a new big time security system put in today…the “day after” she needed it.  (<–That’s a blog post in itself, the sectors that do well in a down economy – security, health care, pharma, lead gen/performance, etc.)

So, that brings me to what I believe is the point of this blog.  People are starting to get aggressive and need to sit back and laugh a bit or take the proverbial chill pill.  This terrible economy has not only emboldened people at the lower rings of society, but also the educated circles.  I get calls on the daily from entrepreneurs asking me for free M&A advice as if I’m an information booth in Times Square.  (I get it.  People are more comfortable haggling with mom and pops rather than Macy’s…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R2a8TRSgzZY.)

But when it comes to the job market, I am getting inquiries from some fairly aggressive job seekers.  It’s as if people feel like I’ve wronged them in the worst way if I do not interview them.  I guess it is like being denied at a club that was cool ten years ago or they feel that it was beneath them to even apply.  I’m not sure, but I did not cause this recession and take that tude back down to Wall Street.   (It is only two people that I am blogging about in particular…so, keep the resumes coming!)

What I really wanted to do was give everyone something to laugh about.  The link above and the one below are tell-tale signs of the state that we are in.  Everyone needs a little bit of my mom’s positive attitude (including myself) and laugh at the economy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6IQ_FOCE6I

Best,

John

Tags:

Leave a comment